Free espresso deal alerts, Black Friday through Jan 15Get Deal Alerts
Circle K markCrema Karma
Green unroasted and dark roasted coffee beans arranged side by side
Photo: nousnou iwasaki / Unsplash

Comparison

Gene Cafe CBR-101 vs CBR-301

Two models compared on maker specs and U.S. list prices, with a buy-now-or-wait call for each.

Quick verdict

  • Best value Gene Cafe CBR-101 ($690.00 list, checked Oct 30, 2026). 250 g batches on 120 V with a 12 month warranty at the lower list price. Where to buy
  • Solid pick Gene Cafe CBR-301 ($950.00 list, checked Oct 30, 2026). 300 gram max batches with the same 17 pound weight and 12 month warranty, for $260 more at list. Where to buy

Editor picks

Ready to buy? Start with a kit or compare our top picks. Picked by our editors until we have click data.

Price history: what we actually recorded

Gene Cafe CBR-101

$690.00checked Oct 30, 2026

Gene Cafe CBR-101 price history: 1 recorded point; list price $690.00

Not enough of our own dated history to draw a line yet; tracking since Oct 17, 2026. List $690.00.

Gene Cafe CBR-301

$950.00checked Oct 30, 2026

Gene Cafe CBR-301 price history: 1 recorded point; list price $950.00

Not enough of our own dated history to draw a line yet; tracking since Oct 17, 2026. List $950.00.

Recorded priceMaker list price Only prices we checked and dated ourselves; nothing back-filled.

Set alert

Is this a real Black Friday low?

  • Gene Cafe CBR-101: $690.00 maker U.S. list price, checked Oct 30, 2026. We do not yet have enough of our own dated price history to call a Black Friday low on this model. We have tracked it since Oct 17, 2026, and the list price has not changed.
  • Gene Cafe CBR-301: $950.00 maker U.S. list price, checked Oct 30, 2026. We do not yet have enough of our own dated price history to call a Black Friday low on this model. We have tracked it since Oct 17, 2026, and the list price has not changed.

We only compare against prices we checked and dated ourselves at the maker's store. We never show a made-up "was" price. Related: Black Friday price watch and buy now or wait.

Setup cost

Totals add each maker's U.S. list price, checked Oct 30, 2026 (scale checked Oct 30, 2026). Retailer prices can be lower. Build your own on the setup builder or see home espresso setups.

Recall status. Gene Cafe: none found (automated CPSC name match, data fetched 2026-10-30 23:11 CDT; not a safety rating). Details at the end of this page.

Get an email when one of these drops in price

Pick a model. We check prices at each maker's own store, date every check, and email you when we record a lower price. Free; unsubscribe anytime.

After you subscribe, Kit sends a confirmation email. Click the link in it to start getting alerts. We store your email and the model you picked; sent through Kit.

Everything below comes from each maker's own product page (list price, specs and the date we checked), U.S. CPSC recall notices, and, for the buy-now-or-wait calls, named public reports of last year's holiday prices. We show no star ratings or review counts. Some links may earn us a commission; see the disclosure.

Side by side

ModelPowerWeightWarrantyList pricePrice checked
Gene Cafe CBR-1011400 W17 pounds12 months$690.00Oct 30, 2026
Gene Cafe CBR-301Not stated17 pounds12 months$950.00Oct 30, 2026

Specs and list prices from each maker's U.S. product page, checked Oct 30, 2026. "Not stated" means the maker page did not list it.

Price gap. The Gene Cafe CBR-101 has the lower U.S. list price ($690.00 vs $950.00, a $260.00 difference), per each maker's site checked Oct 30, 2026.

The two models

1

Gene Cafe

Gene Cafe CBR-101

Roasted coffee beans cooling under the stirring arms of a roaster's cooling tray
Illustrative photo, not this model. Photo: Andrew Neel / Pexels

Why it is here

Gene Cafe CBR-101: rotating chamber roaster, $690.00 list.

$690.00

Gene Cafe U.S. list price, checked Oct 30, 2026

Buy now or wait? No clear signal. We found no public report of how this brand priced this model on Black Friday 2025, so we make no call. Watch the price instead. This is a past pattern, not a forecast; we do not have our own retailer price history yet.

Batch
250g
Power
1400 W

Key specs from Gene Cafe's product page, checked Oct 30, 2026.

No CPSC recall found that names Gene Cafe (CPSC data fetched 2026-10-30 23:11 CDT). This is an automated name match, not a safety rating.

See it on the maker's site Check eBay Where to buy Watch this price

2

Gene Cafe

Gene Cafe CBR-301

Dark roasted coffee beans resting in a roaster drum beside its stirring arm
Illustrative photo, not this model. Photo: Ahmet Yüksek / Pexels

Why it is here

Gene Cafe CBR-301: rotating chamber roaster, $950.00 list.

$950.00

Gene Cafe U.S. list price, checked Oct 30, 2026

Buy now or wait? No clear signal. We found no public report of how this brand priced this model on Black Friday 2025, so we make no call. Watch the price instead. This is a past pattern, not a forecast; we do not have our own retailer price history yet.

Batch
300 gram

Key specs from Gene Cafe's product page, checked Oct 30, 2026.

No CPSC recall found that names Gene Cafe (CPSC data fetched 2026-10-30 23:11 CDT). This is an automated name match, not a safety rating.

See it on the maker's site Check eBay Where to buy Watch this price

See also: best home coffee roaster, the Black Friday price watch and buy now or wait.

Related comparisons: Fresh Roast SR540 vs SR800 · Aillio Bullet R2 vs R2 Pro.

FAQ

What is the price difference between the Gene Cafe CBR-101 and Gene Cafe CBR-301?

The Gene Cafe CBR-101 has the lower U.S. list price ($690.00 vs $950.00, a $260.00 difference), per each maker's site checked Oct 30, 2026.

Which is better, the Gene Cafe CBR-101 or the Gene Cafe CBR-301?

Gene Cafe CBR-101 is our Best value: 250 g batches on 120 V with a 12 month warranty at the lower list price. Gene Cafe CBR-301 is our Solid pick: 300 gram max batches with the same 17 pound weight and 12 month warranty, for $260 more at list.

Should I buy now or wait for Black Friday?

Gene Cafe CBR-101: No clear signal. Gene Cafe CBR-301: No clear signal. These calls rest on named public reports of last year's holiday prices; they are past patterns, not forecasts.

Do you earn money from these links?

From some, yes. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. See our disclosure page.

Price board